Heritage Free Flow Acrylic Paint

I was handed three bottles of Heritage’s new free flow acrylic to try in my airbrush. I was very excited as I’ve been looking for a local supplier of paint for the airbrush for a long time now. You do get the Dala Acrylic Drawing Ink but it needs more and finer pigment.

Out of the bottle the colours are nice and vibrant and my first thought was that it will be nice and opaque. Put it in the airbrush and nothing. It is too thick. Not as thick as Createx though. but it does not spray well at 20psi, but then again neither did Createx. I had to thin it but with this the opacity went out the door. But this did not help with the pigment size as it still did not come out very smooth. For the thickness it dried really quickly and maybe too quickly for my liking. This in tern caused cause quite a bit of tip dry.

On the test panel and compared it to my other paints I have namely CreatexCom-Art and Dala. I did this with my Iwata Eclipse HP-CS with a 0.35 tip on Schoellershammer board. I drew a line with a permanent marker to see if the paints will cover it. The only paints that came close was the Heritage and the Createx, but at the cost of a smooth spray. The Heritage yellow had to be watered down quite  a bit as it just simply did not want to flow. When it did I had to lay down a tremendous amount of paint to try and cover the line and to see if I could actually get the so called “Deep Yellow” that was marked on the bottle.

Here you can see how each brand sprayed. I did not do a line test with the yellow as you will not see it. On the Heritage and Createx you can see the actual pigments. I even did a bit of a scratch and erase exercise to see how it handles that. Again, I did not do this on the yellow as there was so many layers of each to make it visible, that there would not be any paper left by the time I broke through.


I made a list of the good and the bad, or rather not so good, bits about this paint and hopefully it can be fixed.

GOOD

  • Colour is great in all three samples
  • Opacity is good
  • Scratches and erases easy when thin layers are applied
  • Red Oxide more opaque and scratches and erases easier then Red

NOT SO GOOD

  • Pigment too coarse, it clogs the nozzle of a standard 0.3mm airbrush at 20psi
  • Too thick
  • When thinned enough to paint, you loose the opacity
  • Dries a little bit too fast.
  • Bottle lid leaks

SUGGESTIONS

  • Need a steel or ceramic ball in the bottle to help mix the pigment
  • Eye dropper top will be great to measure exact ratios
  • Either needs an opaque and translucent range or a transparent acrylic base at the same consistency to make paint transparent without thinning it

Here’s a list of colours I think should be in the range. No need to make every colour under the rainbow (yet). I compiled this list from what other manufacturers have in their lists.

Colours to develop

Opaque Transparent
White Black
Black Cadmium Yellow
Cadmium Yellow Cadmium Orange
Cadmium Orange Cadmium Red
Cadmium Red Ultramarine Blue
Ultramarine Blue Cobalt Blue
Cobalt Blue Viridian
Viridian Moss Green
Moss Green Violet
Burnt Sienna Magenta
Burnt Umber Smoke (50% gray with a touch of burned umber)
Raw Umber Or just a clear acrylic base to convert all opaques to transparents
Flesh
Leave a Reply

