3-in-1 Airbrush Cleaning Pot

Airbrush, check. Compressor, check. Paint, check. Okay let’s start to paint. But wait, where will I dump all my dirty cleaning fluid in? Well, you can just dump it in a bucket or spray it out into a rag. But that is not enough, you need something cleaner and faster.

In steps the cleaning pot. I’ve only ever seen three models. There is the Iwata/Revell/Sparmax one. The “Orb” which looks really funky. And this 3-in-1 model I’m about to tell you about. The Iwata one is really expensive. Awesome quality but the price, ouch. The “Orb” I’ve never seen this side and reviews say it’s a bit wonky. Then I got my hands onthe 3-in-1 for half the price of the Iwata one.

So what are you looking for in a cleaning station? It’s easy, it’s needs to be sturdy and needs to be easy to clean. And this one ticks both.

The box is un-inspiring. It shows you what is inside, what it does and how it should be used.

cleaning pot

Unpacking it and still nothing to get excited about. It comes neatley packed in bubble wrap with some filters and airbrush stand in a packed on the inside. The glass bowl is huge and weighed in at a wopping 558g. This is really cool because I will be using it to clean my brushes in when I do brush painting.

The white lid is made from a softer rubbery plastic and is divided into 3 wells for what I would think is for colour mixing.

cleaning pot

It really does not take a rocket surgeon to put it together. It is bigger then what you think. Fully assembled it take up a space of 128mm x 128mm x 155mm.

cleaning pot

It comes prefitted with 1 filter. Not the best in my opinion but it looks like the same material that lines our extractor fan in the kitchen. So for R20 ($2) you will never run out of filters.

cleaning pot

The airbrush holder fits loosely in the hole provided. So it swivels easily into desired position. With a gravity feen gun is works 100%, but it does not fit a side feed or a bottom feed gun. I will never use the hole for a stand like they do on the box.

cleaning pot

The stock filter did not do it for me. So I first tried to jam the other 5 filters in as well. That cleaned the air better. But then I thought of what to use if you do not have that special stuff. I then got one of  the missus’ make-up cotton swaps and cut it in the same shape and got a piece of sponge in the same size. Not only does it clean the air better, it also cuts down on some noise.

cleaning pot
cleaning pot

Cleaning the pot is easy enough but when it comes to pack it away, you need to remove the airbrush stand so that the lid can fit. No biggy, pop it into the lid and close it up.

cleaning pot

Conclusion
I’m glad I got it. It looks great and works great. It’s feel a bit more “pro” then the home made bucket. If they really want to step it up, they should add a better airbrush stand to it.  Something that can take all types of guns.

