Mini microscope

I got one of these for a friend the last time I ordered some painting supplies from Europe. I thought it was quite nifty and I looked on ebay to see if I could find it there. Lo and behold, there are many suppliers for this. Being the cheapskate that I am, I opted for one with free shipping. There were a few and went for the one that charged me $2.58 for one. It is quite a bit cheaper then the €8.50 from Europe (excl shipping). So I took 2.

Just over a month later and some local taxes and handling fees, the price almost doubled. It came in a well padded envelope but I guess being thrown around for a month takes it toll even on the best padded package. Nothing was broken, just the boxes squashed a bit.

There is not much in the box. It’s just the microscope in a plastic bag inside a pleather pouch. Batteries already installed. No instructions besides the illustration on the box.
micro_01

This thing is tiny.
micro_02

The face has the power switch, three LEDs and the lens with a clear spacer with an opening for the light to enter.
micro_03

The back has the eye-piece and the cap where the batteries go.
micro_04

The two pieces swivel so that it stands more sturdy and so that you can get the light towards the lens.
micro_05

The blue light is UV for checking money. But I doubt I will ever use it for that.
micro_06

The two white LEDs are quite bright and gives really good light on the subject.
micro_07
micro_08

To adjust the magnification, you just slide the eye-piece in and out.
micro_09
micro_10

It uses three watch like batteries that are already installed. I think replacements will cost more then the whole microscope.
micro_11

I took this by using my camera in macro mode and hold it against the eye-piece. This is the tip of the needle of my Micron. Oops, I guess it is bent. But it still works 100%. Those white dots are the small dots you can see in all the previous photos.
micro_12

For the money I spent, I think it was a bargain.

