How to paint a fox

I use graphite paper to transfer my image to my desired surface.
fox_01

I put in as much detail as I can. It’s easier to remove than to put back.fox_02

Using the same image I just traced, I cut out the mask. The darkest bits get completely removed.
fox_03

I did the background first because some of the fur covers it.
fox_04

Putting the darkerst bits in with opaque grey.
fox_05

Putting the other dark bits in with the same grey. Keeping an eye on the reference on how dark to go. Starting to erase the fur.
fox_06

Adding and erasing more grey.
fox_07

Onto the warmer area. Using burnt umber to put in the dark areas.
fox_08

Erasing all the lighter parts. Highlight in eye was also done.
fox_09

Going over the warm area with a transparent mixture of golden- and red ocher.
fox_10

Building up more layers with burnt umber.
fox_11

More erasing and more of the transparent orange mixture.
fox_12

Making the whites whiter with more erasing.
fox_13

Adding detail like the whiskers is the last step.
fox_14

And you are done.Fox_tag

 

